Our Missions

Selection rules

All entries will be reviewed by the jury.

Each entry should be no thicker than 6 inches, two-dimensional and can be hung on the wall. All those aged above 16 who lives and works in China are eligible to apply. For each competition, one artist should only submit one piece of work. All works should be hand in anonymously and the jury will make an appraisal without knowing the names of the artists beforehand.The selection will be carried out among real objects. The decision of the jury will be final. The judges are obliged to make their own decision from the perspective of pure aesthetics, unbiased by any interest disputes or political positions.
The jury is comprised of five people including representative artists, curators and critics in contemporary art circle. The first prize, which is the biggest prize, will be decided by the jury. It will provide support to prize-winning artists and also has the right to give instructions on curation.

Process

Phase One – Nomination
Submission of registration forms and photos will be due on December 20, 2017.

Phase Two – Selection
There are two phases of the selection during our competition. After the first round selection is decided, we will email to all the artists whose art works are selected. The address of the warehouse and details will be sent by email. All the selected works should be sent by the artist to the appointed warehouse by a specified date.

In the secondphase, the judges will decide a collection of the art works that will befinally exhibited in Min Sheng Art Museum. The rest of the artworks will be returned by the organizers to the artists through our appointed supplier.

Please be noted that the jury’s selection is decisive. Neither National Museums Liverpool nor Fine Arts Academy of Shanghai University is involved in the appraisal and selection of the works.

大赛宗旨 MISSION

约翰•莫尔绘画奖(中国)评选原则

绘画参赛作品由评委会评定。

参赛作品厚度不能超过6英寸,而且作品是二维的、是可以被悬挂的。每个16岁以上,在中国生活和工作的人都可以参加比赛。一次比赛,一个艺术家只能提交一幅作品。作品是匿名评选,评委会在不知晓艺术家姓名前提下进行评选。作品评选将从实物选择。评委会的决定是最终决定。评委会有义务以纯粹的艺术眼光对作品作出自己的选择,并将不带任何偏见、利益纷争、或者政治立场。

评委会通常由五个人组成,他们都是在当代艺术界有代表性的艺术家、策展人及评论家。大赛的一等奖由评委会抉择,这是比赛中的最大奖项。对评选出来的艺术家将提供相应的支持。评委会有权利对布展提出指导。

大赛说明 Process

第一阶段入围评选
第一阶段的登记表格与作品照片的提交截止日期是2017年12月20日。

第二阶段参展评选
入围名单确定后,入围作品须在规定日期前送至主办方指定的仓库,仓库地址与开放时间将在第二阶段的邮件中告知参赛者,如果没有成功运输到指定仓库,参赛者也将被马上告知。

在第二阶段的评选中,参赛者将被告知评选结果,没有入选参展的作品将会尽快被退回。

请注意:大赛评委会的选择是决定性的,利物浦国家美术馆或上海大学上海美术学院不会参与对作品的评判与选择。